Tuesday, November 20, 2018

Hall of Fame Cubs in the x00 Slots

I did some digging around after writing yesterday's post.  I looked to see how many times Cubs Hall of Famers from the Topps era were given a x00 slot on a flagship checklist.

I kinda bemoaned the fact that this 1994 card was Sandberg's only x00 card.  I was hoping that the others fared better.

They didn't.

I count seven players who had significant time with the Cubs during the Topps era and ended up in Cooperstown - Ernie Banks, Andre Dawson, Fergie Jenkins, Greg Maddux, Ryne Sandberg, Ron Santo, and Billy Williams.

Care to guess how many other cards there are besides the '94 Sandberg?


One... just two stinking cards.  Billy was bestowed #200 in 1973 and Dawson got #500 in 1988, following his 1987 MVP.

The others never made it.

Ernie Banks won the MVP in 1958, but in the '59 set Bob Cerv was #100 and NL President Warren Giles got #300.

In 1959 Ernie won the NL MVP for the second time, but that didn't get him a hundred number in 1960.  However, Rocky Colavito (#400) and Johnny Temple (#400) did.


  1. Johnny Temple? I don't even recognize that name. I know Colavito... but Temple? Ack.

  2. Banks never had a 00 card? Wow. Topps dropped the ball on that one.

  3. Johnny Temple was a good player, but Topps didn't follow the double zero formula faithfully until the '60s.